Wiki’s

September 16, 2009

imagesI confess I am a bit slow embracing this particular technology (although I do love Wikipedia and Encyclopedia Dramatica).  Until now, I’ve only dabbled with wiki’s for professional reasons — I go back to what is comfortable for me which is blogging.  Mainly, because I’m just more familiar with blogging  — it took me less than 5-minutes to figure out how to blog through WordPress.com or to find a blog of interest through GoogleReader.  It took me about 10 minutes to figure out how to even join an existing wiki through Wikispaces, and once I got the hang of it, the site went down and continued to have issues as I searched and tried to create my personalized wiki.  But I hung in and have come back over the last few days where I’ve been able to add a number of sites. I’m still not quite sure how I will use my own wiki that I created, but I am trying.

The main difference that I see between a blog and a wiki is that a blog allows entries to be made in journal style and displayed in reverse chronological order on a website; a wiki is a website that allows visitors/members to add, remove, edit, change content, and link to other sites.

***

I went to a few other wiki sites.  The best one that I found was Wiki.com; it defined a wiki for me and then walked me through the process of acquiring a wiki by asking:

  1. How tech savvy are the people who will add to the pages of your wiki?
  2. Do you want to download wiki engine software to place on your own hardware, or do you want to subscribe online to a service hosted for you?
  3. Do you want to retain past versions of your pages so you can view changes or revert back?

***

I came across this page while researching wiki’s; it is a list of notable wikis:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_wikis.  You can look through the list and see if there is something of interest then subscribe to it through your wiki application.

Leave a Reply

